BOUTIQUE LAW FIRM SPECIALIZED
IN MUNICIPAL, ENVIRONMENT
AND PUBLIC REAL ESTATE LAW
BOUTIQUE LAW FIRM SPECIALIZED
IN MUNICIPAL, ENVIRONMENT
AND PUBLIC REAL ESTATE LAW

PARK FEES CONTRIBUTION AND ENVIRONMENTAL COMPENSATION ZONES

The Superior Court upholds the right of the City of Laval to refuse the transfer of a lot used as a retention basin as park fees, since it is in an environmental compensation zone covered by a CA 22.

Summary:

The developer, Véridis I, submitted a project comprising wetlands, thus requiring a certificate of authorization under s. 22 of the Environmental Quality Act (CA 22) and compensation measures. In the course of its project, Veridis constructed a retention basin which it transferred to the City as park fees. However, the City of Laval, being of the opinion that the transfer of the basin, being in an environmental compensation zone, could not be accepted as park fees, demanded from Veridis the payment of $ 208,900. This amount was paid under protest not to delay the issuance of the subdivision permit and the completion of the project further. Véridis then claimed reimbursement, alleging that the transfer of the retention basin had to be and had been accepted as a contribution for park costs.

According to the Court, the decision of the City to exclude the area of ​​the retention basin from the calculation of the compensation due as park fees is reasonable and in accordance with the Act respecting Land Use Planning and Development (LUPDA) and the applicable by-laws.

The facts:

Véridis was to build as part of its real estate project a conventional retention basin, typically a steep, fenced and inaccessible, serving only the utility function of rainwater retention. Its consultants had the idea of ​​changing its shape, softening the slopes, and incorporating wetlands and diverse native vegetation. The area of ​​the clearing area authorized in 2008 by a CA 22 was increased. The objective was to give a triple vocation to the work, namely the retention of rainwater, environmental compensation, and its use of by citizens.

During a meeting with the City Planning Department, Véridis set out its position regarding the transfer of lot 5 381 657, where the compensation zone is located, to be considered as park fees. The City’s representatives, without committing to consider the Site as payment for park fees, received the concept with interest, that they found beautiful and avant-garde. Véridis said that it did its new development project because the City representatives did not tell it that, under any consideration, the City would not accept the compensation zone for park purposes.

The final contribution :

The City decided that the transfer of the retention basin could not be considered in the calculation of the required park fee contribution and imposed a cash payment of $ 208,900. The City invoked that these basins are an inalterable environmental compensation measure and an infrastructure that it will have to maintain in the future. The City considered that it can’t modify the configuration of a compensation zone because of the conditions imposed by a CA 22. It maintained that it wishes to reserve for itself the possibility of developing or redeveloping the ceded land for park and playground purposes. It had never accepted a compensation zone in the calculation of park fees, regardless of its configuration or topography. This was and, to our knowledge, still is an automatic exclusion criterion for the City of Laval.

The decision of the Superior Court:

The Court ruled in favour of the City. The judgment does not appear to have been appealed.

Although natural spaces, terrestrial as aquatic, can qualify as a contribution for park purposes under the law (LUPDA), as it does not impose any restriction in this regard, the issue was whether the City’s refusal to receive this lot as an adequate contribution for park purposes constitutes a reasonable exercise of its discretion. It is recognized that the decision to accept as a contribution for park purposes the transfer of land or the payment of a sum of money (or one and/or the other) is a discretionary decision for City Council (in this case, the Executive committee).

The City rightly interpreted the relevant provisions of the LUPDA and the Environment Quality Act as prohibiting the redevelopment of lots constituting an environmental compensation area. In light of these provisions, the obligations they create, and the prohibitions they set out, the Court decided that the City’s decision certainly belongs to the possible acceptable outcomes and confirmed the reasonableness of the decision, which is the applicable analytical criterion. Veridis did not in any way establish that the City had exercised its discretion 1) for improper or non-statutory purposes, 2) in bad faith, 3) on erroneous principles or taking into account irrelevant considerations or 4) in a manner that is discriminatory and unfair, arbitrary or unreasonable, the Court confirmed its decision not to accept the transfer of the retention basin as a contribution for park fees, but rather to require the payment of a cash sum.

In the alternative, Véridis invoked the doctrine of promissory estoppel in support of its action. It stated that it had favoured her proposed new development because the City representatives did not indicate that, under no consideration, would not accept the park compensation area.

For this doctrine to apply, four criteria must be met: 1) the public authority has made promises; (2) the public authority intended to induce the taxpayer to do certain things; 3) the taxpayer relied on the promises of the public authority to adjust his behaviour; and finally, 4) the taxpayer acted in consideration of the promises made to him.

The Court decided that this doctrine did not apply in the case at bar, because the prevailing evidence did not establish that the representatives of the City made any undertaking to Véridis to consider the compensation zone for park purposes. On the contrary, according to the Court.

Reference : Immobilier Véridis I inc. c. Ville de Laval, Guylène Beaugé, J.C.S., 7 novembre 2018

CONTRIBUTION POUR FRAIS DE PARC ET ZONE DE COMPENSATION POUR MILIEUX HUMIDES

La Cour supérieure confirme le droit de la Ville de Laval de refuser la cession d’un lot servant comme bassin de rétention comme frais de parcs, vu que celui-ci est situé dans une zone de compensation environnementale visée par un CA 22.

Sommaire :

Le promoteur, Véridis I, soumet un projet comportant des milieux humides, nécessitant un CA 22 et des mesures de compensations. Dans le cadre de son projet, Véridis a aménagé un bassin de rétention qu’il a cédé à la Ville comme frais de parcs. Toutefois, estimant que la cession du bassin ne peut en tenir lieu puisque situé dans une zone de compensation, Laval a exigé de Véridis le paiement de 208 900 $, somme acquittée sous protêt pour ne pas retarder l’émission du permis de lotissement et la réalisation du projet davantage. Véridis en réclamait le remboursement, estimant que la cession du bassin de rétention devait être et avait été acceptée comme contribution pour frais de parc.

Selon la Cour, la décision de la Ville d’exclure la superficie du bassin de rétention du calcul de la compensation due en guise de frais de parc s’avère raisonnable et conforme à la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme (L.A.U.) et à la réglementation applicable.

Le contexte factuel :

Véridis devait aménager dans le cadre de son projet immobilier un bassin de rétention conventionnel, typiquement un ouvrage abrupt, clôturé et inaccessible, ne servant que la fonction utilitaire de rétention des eaux pluviales. Les consultants du promoteur ont eu l’idée d’en changer la forme, d’en adoucir les pentes, ainsi que d’y intégrer des milieux humides et une végétation indigène diversifiée. La superficie de la zone de compensation autorisée en 2008 par le CA 22 s’en trouvait par contre augmentée. L’objectif était de donner une triple vocation à l’ouvrage, à savoir la rétention des eaux pluviales, la compensation environnementale et l’utilisation de l’espace par les citoyens.

Lors d’une rencontre avec le Service d’urbanisme de la Ville, Véridis expose sa position quant à la cession du lot 5 381 657, où se trouve la zone de compensation, pour valoir comme frais de parc. Les représentants de la Ville, sans s’obliger à considérer le Site comme paiement des frais de parc, reçoivent avec intérêt le concept qu’ils trouvent beau et avant-gardiste. Véridis dit avoir favorisé son projet de nouvel aménagement parce que les représentants de la Ville ne lui ont pas indiqué que, sous aucune considération, celle-ci n’accepterait la zone de compensation à des fins de parc.

La contribution exigée :

La Ville décidera que la cession du bassin de rétention ne peut être considérée dans le calcul de la cession pour fins de parc et exigera le paiement d’une somme de 208,900. La Ville estime que ces bassins constituent une mesure de compensation environnementale inaltérable, ainsi qu’une infrastructure qu’elle devra entretenir à l’avenir. La Ville estime ne pas pouvoir modifier la configuration d’une zone de compensation en raison des conditions imposées au CA22. Elle soutient vouloir se réserver la possibilité d’aménager ou de réaménager les terrains de jeux cédés. Elle n’a jamais accepté une zone de compensation dans le calcul des frais de parc, cela, peu importe sa configuration ou sa topographie. Il s’agit pour elle d’un critère d’exclusion automatique.

La décision de la Cour supérieure :

La Cour a donné raison à la Ville de Laval. Le jugement ne semble pas avoir été porté en appel.

Bien que les espaces naturels, terrestres comme aquatiques, peuvent se qualifier comme contribution pour frais de parc puisque la L.A.U. n’impose pas de restriction à cet égard, la question en litige était de savoir si le refus de la Ville de recevoir ce lot comme contribution adéquate aux fins de parc constitue l’exercice raisonnable de sa discrétion. En effet, la décision d’accepter à titre de contribution pour fins de parc la cession d’un terrain ou le paiement d’une somme d’argent (ou l’un et/ou l’autre) est une décision discrétionnaire relevant du conseil municipal (dans ce cas, du comité exécutif).

La Ville interprète les dispositions pertinentes de la L.A.U. et de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement comme lui interdisant le réaménagement de lots constituant une zone de compensation environnementale. À la lumière de ces dispositions, des obligations qu’elles créent, et des interdictions qu’elles énoncent, la Cour décide que la décision de la Ville appartient certainement aux issues possibles acceptables et confirme le caractère raisonnable de la décision, critère d’analyse applicable. Véridis n’ayant pas d’aucune façon établie que la Ville avait exercé sa discrétion 1) à des fins impropres ou non prévues à la loi, 2) de mauvaise foi, 3) selon des principes erronés ou en tenant compte de considérations non pertinentes, ou 4) de façon discriminatoire et injuste, arbitraire ou déraisonnable, la Cour a confirmé sa décision de ne pas accepter la cession du bassin de rétention comme contribution pour frais de parc, mais plutôt d’exiger le paiement d’une somme en argent.

De façon subsidiaire, Véridis invoquait la doctrine de la préclusion promissoire au soutien de son recours. Elle affirmait avoir favorisé son projet de nouvel aménagement parce que les représentants de la Ville ne lui ont pas indiqué que sous aucune considération celle-ci n’accepterait la zone de compensation à des fins de parc.

Pour donner ouverture à cette doctrine, quatre critères doivent être réunis : « 1) l’autorité publique a fait des promesses ; 2) l’autorité publique a eu l’intention d’inciter le contribuable à accomplir certains gestes ; 3) le contribuable s’est fié aux promesses de l’autorité publique pour ajuster son comportement ; et finalement 4) le contribuable a agi en considération des promesses qui lui étaient faites.

La Cour a décidé que cette théorie ne pouvait trouver application, car la preuve prépondérante n’a pas établi que les représentants de la Ville ont pris l’engagement, envers Véridis, de considérer la zone de compensation à des fins de parcs. Bien au contraire, selon la Cour.

Référence : Immobilier Véridis I inc. c. Ville de Laval, Guylène Beaugé, J.C.S., 7 novembre 2018